Martinez sets Ram record in 3000 steeplechase
News Photo
Track & Field - Sun, Apr. 27, 2014

DUBUQUE – Sophomore Sam Martinez established a school record in the women's 3000-meter steeplechase to pace Cornell's track and field teams at the Dr. Tucker Open Saturday at Loras College. No team scores were recorded.

Martinez blew away the field with a winning time of 11 minutes, 6.98 seconds, which is tops in the Midwest Conference and 22nd in Division III this outdoor season. She took down the program mark of 11:07.70, set by Jaime Scholz in 2004.

Martinez beat her closest competitor by more than a minute. She shaved 26 seconds off her previous-best clocking of the spring.

Junior Madison Acree enjoyed another strong day in the shot put, placing second out of 30 entrants. She posted a season-best mark of 43-2.25, good for second in the MWC and 21st nationally. Monmouth's Raven Robinson won the event with a throw of 44-6.25.

Acree also finished fourth in the hammer throw (151-4) and fifth in the discus (120-1).

Ashley Reynolds ran 18:57.48 for a runner-up finish in the 5000. Ty Person was fourth in the long jump (16-1) and Katie Gilbert took fifth in the triple jump (35-4).

Freshman Sydney Strunk placed fourth in the 400 (1:01.02) and anchored the 4x100 relay to a fifth-place showing in 52.82. Nikki Leach, also part of the 4x100, reached the finals in the 100 hurdles and wound up sixth (16.17).

Preston Ritchie finished in the top-8 in three events to lead Cornell's men's squad. The junior was fifth in the long jump with a leap of 20-7.25. Ritchie qualified for the finals in the 35-man 100 and finished eighth (11.13). He also placed eighth out of 35 runners in the 200 (22.97).

Thomas Guittar notched a fifth-place effort in the 800. His mark of 1:57.23 is third-fastest in the MWC. In the throwing events, Parker Kenyon was fifth in the discus (141-2) and Charles Zilaitis sixth in the hammer (149-0).    

Coming up – The Rams are back in action next Saturday, May 3, at the Monmouth Invitational in Monmouth, Ill. The meet gets underway at 11 a.m.